Health Experts & Supporters

Thank you to our health experts & supporters for helping improve patient health and safety, and for acting as invaluable resources — whether that be funding, acting as a scientific or media resource, assisting us with surveys, or just moral support. Your support and opinions are invaluable in promoting patient health and safety.

Please note that the titles and organizations with whom our individual supporters are affiliated, have been identified for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as an endorsement of or support by such organization to PPAHS or the viewpoints communicated by the individual supporter.


For a list of health care experts who have provided comment or articles for us, please click here.

Our sincere apologies if we have been slow to update this list and have not yet included a health care expert.



Christina Bacak (Executive Director, Texas Society of Anesthesiologists)

Laura Bassi, CRNA, MSNA (President, Rhode Island Association of Nurse Anesthetists)

Dr Wei Chao (Secretary, Hawaii State Society of Anesthesiologists)

Dr Richard Dutton (Executive Director, Anesthesia Quality Institute)

Dr Lisa Eng (President, Association of Chinese American Physicians)

Dr Pamela Flood (Director of Obstetrical Anesthesia, UCSF School of Medicine)

Dr Elizabeth Frost (Prof Anesthesiology, Mount Sinai Medical Center)

Deirdre Gilbert (National Director, The National Association for Medical Malpractice Victims, Inc.)

Dr Peter Glass (Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology, Stony Brook)

Mark Green, CRNA (President, Vermont Association of Nurse Anesthetists)

Cheryl Handy (patient safety advocate)

Cathy Harrison, CRNA (President, Virginia Association of Nurse Anesthetists)

Sean Hintz, CRNA (Vice President, Louisiana Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Dr Robert Johnstone (Secretary, West Virginia State Society of Anesthesiologists)

Dr Eberhard Kochs (Chair, Department of Anesthesia, Technische Universität München)

Dr Jerrold Lerman (Department of Anesthesiology, Children’s Hospital of Buffalo)

Dr J. Lance Lichtor (Chief, Pediatric Anesthesiology, UMass Memorial Medical Center; Professor of Anesthesiology and Pediatrics, University of Massachusetts Medical School; web editor and an associate editor for Anesthesiology, and Anesthesia and Analgesia)

Dr Ren Yu Liu, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania

Kathleen O’Leary (President, The New York State Society of Anesthesiologists; Chief of Surgical Anesthesia, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, Roswell Park Cancer Institute)

Dr Frank J. Overdyk (Executive Director for Research, North American Partners in Anesthesiology, and Professor of Anesthesiology at Hofstra University School of Medicine)

Margarita Pate (Executive Director, South Carolina Society of Anesthesiologists)

Patient Commando

Dr Michael Roizen (Institute Chair, Wellness Institute, Cleveland Clinic)

Dr Daniel I. Sessler (Michael Cudahy Professor & Chair, Department of Outcomes Research, The Cleveland Clinic; Director, Outcomes Research Consortium)

Howard Snitzer (The Man Who Survived 96 Minutes Without A Heartbeat)

Heather Spiess (Executive Director, American Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants)

Dr Robert Stoelting (President, Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation)

Lisa Sullivan, CRNA (President, New Hampshire Association of Nurse Anesthetists)

Dr Thomas Vetter (Maurice S. Albin Professor of Anesthesiology, Vice Chair and Director of the Division of Pain Medicine, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, University of Alabama School of Medicine)

Dr Brett Winthrop (President, Nevada State Society of Anesthesiologists)


We welcome your support – whether it be funding, acting as a scientific or media resource, assisting us with surveys, or just moral support!

To become a supporter, please send us an email to or complete the form below:

Leave a Comment, if You Care About Patient Safety